Ally Ewing wins 2023 AIG Women’s Open with a solo lead after making a late eagle

Aug, 2023

Ally Ewing’s last few months have been a rollercoaster on the LPGA.

She finished 17th at the Bank of Hope Match Play in May. She missed the cut at Mizuho Americas.

Ads code goes here

The KPMG Women’s PGA was missed after a tie for eighth place at the Meijer LPGA Classic.

The Amundi Championship saw her miss the cut after finishing 11th in the U.S. Women’s Open.

She posted a T-9 a week ago in the Women’s Scottish Open but looks to be in good shape to buck the missed-cut-every-other-event trend this week at the AIG Women’s Open.

Ewing recovered from consecutive bogeys at Nos. At Walton Heath, in Surrey, England, Ewing followed up back-to-back bogeys on Nos.

She said, “The ball was a little slack,” after her drive on the 16th ended up in rough. “But, I saw both of my competitors hitting shots and I noticed how firm the ground was in front of green. I learned a lot from that.” It was a kind of gouge shot, and I let it chase. And it happened to chase down to about five feet. It was one of those situations where you are trying to give yourself a chance to get an eagle and it just happened to be five feet, so I am definitely happy to have walked away with an Eagle.”

She is the sole leader after the first round of the final LPGA Major of 2023.

The second place is a tie at 3 under with Jeongeun Lee6, Emily Kristine Pedersen6, Perrine Delacour4, Jaravee Bouchant and Amy Yang. All of them shot 69s.

Twelve golfers are tied for seventh place after shooting 70. Carlota Ciganda was disqualified for signing the wrong scorecard at the Amundi Evian Championship. This incident arose from a two stroke penalty for slow play. Allisen Corpuz, the U.S. Open champion, is also at 2 under.

The other major 2023 LPGA champions are: Yin Ruoning of the KPMG Women’s PGA, Lilia Vu of the Chevron Championship, and Celine Boutier of Amundi, both with a score over.

Other notable scores include: Danielle Kang, Stacy Lewis, Jin Young Ko (one over), Nelly Koda (one over), Lydia Ko (two over), Ashleigh Buhai (defending AIG champ), Brooke Henderson (three over), and Lexi Thompson (four over).

Thirty-three players broke par on the opening day.

logopng-1 (FPH) started as a small business. Yet it has now transformed from being an internet golf blog to a golf industry leader. FPH is now the best online resource for golf.

Copyright ©2022 Fly Pin High

Web design by 702 Pros