Golf Coaches Association of America announces the 2022 Hall of Fame Class

By Fly Pin High |
November 1, 2022

Tuesday’s announcement by the Golf Coaches Association of America revealed its selections for 2022 Hall of Fame.

At the GCAA Hall of Fame Dinner and Awards Dinner, Dec. 5, in Las Vegas, Mark Crabtree and David Lynn will be inducted.

Ads code goes here

Crabtree began his coaching career at Colorado State. He transformed it from a non-scholarship team to a top-25 team, and NCAA Championship contender in nine seasons. CSU was able to qualify for four consecutive NCAA Regionals, and also qualified for its first NCAA Championship appearance in 1999. Crabtree took over as the Louisville head coach until his retirement in 2020. Crabtree was the first school coach to take the program to postseason play. The team participated in 11 NCAA Regionals, and advanced to four NCAA Championships. He was a winner of 30 tournaments including three Big East titles and 23 individual medalists. Crabtree was inducted into the Colorado Hall of Fame 2006

Lynn began his career with Oklahoma Christian Golf Program in 1998 as an assistant. He then took the position of head the following year. This was a position that he held until 2008. Lynn returned to OC in 2011, and led it to the NAIA championship. He led OC to the National Christian College Athletic Association title in the fall 2012. OC managed a string of 16 consecutive top-four finishes at national-tournament play, either the NAIA Championship or the NCCAA Championship. This streak began in 2000 and lasted until the 2015-16 season. The Eagles are now eligible to play NCAA Division II postseason in 2016. They have reached five Super Regionals as well as two national championships. Their 2022 runner-up finish is the best finish for an Oklahoma Christian team in any NCAA sport.

Montigel is currently in his 36th year as the head coach of TCU. Montigel was the Horned Frogs’ top male basketball recruiter, assistant coach and then he took over the men’s golf team. Montigel helped TCU finish among the top 20 at 13 NCAA Championships. TCU has been to 31 consecutive NCAA Regionals. Montigel is the only coach from any sport to win the title of coach of the Year in all four NCAA Division I conferences.

Young is continuing to set the standard for Hutchinson Community College in his 23rd season. Young and the Blue Dragons were the national champions of the NJCAA in 2022, after winning the first national team championship in the program’s history in 2021. Hutchinson has been recognized with the Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award, two Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Awards, 21 NJCAA Tournament appearances and 13 PING All-Americans.

logopng-1 (FPH) started as a small business. Yet it has now transformed from being an internet golf blog to a golf industry leader. FPH is now the best online resource for golf.

Copyright ©2022 Fly Pin High

Web design by 702 Pros