QBE Shootout field includes 2 LPGA players, 10 top-50, 11 newcomers, and no Greg Norman

Nov, 2022

Steve Stricker and Lexi Thompson are among the fans who will be returning to Tiburon for the 2022 QBE Shootout. It will take place Dec. 7-11.

Greg Norman is the only familiar face who won’t be attending this year’s Naples, Florida tournament. Norman, who hosted the tournament every year since 1989, announced that he had been asked to withdraw from it. LIV Golf, a controversial alternative to the PGA Tour that was funded by Saudi Arabia, caused the golf legend to say it.

Ads code goes here

Rob Hartman, QBE Shootout director, said Norman and event organizers made the collective decision to not attend the event in order to keep the attention on charity efforts. That will include supporting Southwest Florida’s recovery from Hurricane Ian. Hartman stated that all ticket sales from the Shootout will go to local hurricane relief efforts.

The Shootout will feature 10 top-50-ranked players around the globe, including No. 16 Billy Horschel, No. 17 Cameron Young, No. 18 Max Homa No. 27 Sepp Straka, No. 29 Kevin Kisner, No. 30 Corey Conners (No. 33 Tom Hoge (No. 35 K.H. Lee, No. 38 Brian Harman, No. 50 Harris English

Two LPGA players will be playing in the QBE’s 34 year history. Thompson will be making her sixth appearance at the Shootout. Nelly Korda, however, will be making her Shootout debut. Korda currently ranks No. 4. Thompson is currently No. 7.

The Shootout’s $3.8million purse was won by seven players during the 2021-22 PGA Tour season, and the start of the new 2022-23 season. Homa won the Fortinet Championship title three times, including in September. Tour winners included Lee, Horschel and Straka.

The 24 players collectively have accumulated 74 career PGA Tour wins and 18 LPGA titles.

The Shootout features 11 participants, including Hoge and Korda, Denny McCarthy and Maverick McNealy. Keith Mitchell, Mullinax and Spaun will also be competing. Straka, Sahith Theegala and Young will also be participating.

Kuchar and Harris were the team that won the QBE in 2020. They also won the 2013 2014 and 2016 QBEs. The field also includes three former Shootout champions, Day (2014), Harman (2018), and Stricker (17, 2017, and 14). Jason Kokrak, the defending champion, and Kevin Na (who won last year’s tournament with a single stroke over Sam Burns, and Horschel), will not be competing.

The first round will be broadcast live by Golf Channel from 1-4 p.m. ET. The final rounds of the tournament will be covered live on both Golf Channel as well as NBC over the weekend. The second round will be covered from 1:30 to 2:30 p.m. ET on Golf Channel. Then, NBC will take over from 2:30-4.30 p.m. ET. The final round of the tournament will be broadcast on Golf Channel at 2:00 p.m. ET, and on NBC at 2-4 p.m. ET.

For more information, visit Qbeshootout.com.

2022 QBE Shootout Field

  • Corey Conners
  • Jason Day
  • Harris English
  • Brian Harman
  • Charley Hoffman
  • Tom Hoge
  • Max Homa
  • Billy Horschel
  • Kevin Kisner
  • Nelly Korda
  • Matt Kuchar
  • K.H. Lee
  • Denny McCarthy
  • Maverick McNealy
  • Keith Mitchell
  • Trey Mullinax
  • Ryan Palmer
  • J.J. Spaun
  • Scott Stallings
  • Sepp Straka
  • Steve Stricker
  • Sahith Theegala
  • Lexi Thompson
  • Cameron Young


 FlyPinHigh.com (FPH) started as a small business. Yet it has now transformed from being an internet golf blog to a golf industry leader. FPH is now the best online resource for golf.

Copyright ©2022 Fly Pin High

Web design by 702 Pros